Damn you, Murphy!

17 Feb

I have recently been having troubles with my little car. The battery has been piking out on me on a fairly regular basis (sometimes thanks to the Door-Leaving-Open Fairy, but sometimes for no good reason). Luckily, our mechanic is just across the road, and always happy to send the apprentice over with the jump-start thingy, so it doesn’t slow me down too much.

The car is only 5 years old, and we replaced the battery a couple of years ago, so when the other day it tried its little heart out to no avail, only a week after it’s last recharge, I thought the worst: alternator. Optimistically, I chose to wait a few days before running across to get the lads to look at it for me. I’ve tried it every day for the last three days, with no better luck. So this morning I bit the bullet, and just a few minutes ago, the charming young lad came over.

Apprentice: So it’s not starting at all?

Me: It’s trying, but nothing happens. [Puts key in ignition: car starts first go] Oh, you cheating little scumbag!

Apprentice: [Laughs, reaches in ands turns car off, then on again. It starts again, and the next three times.] Well, it seems to be working now. [Picks up his gear and heads back to the workshop, leaving our stalwart heroine shaking her fist impotently at the sky and cursing Murphy for the perfidious trickster that he is]

Le sigh.

5 Responses to “Damn you, Murphy!”

  1. Leonie February 17, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    Awesome 🙂 Here’s hoping the car remains trustworthy for a bit longer. Have a great weekend!

    Is that like the credit card last night that got swiped and swiped and swiped about 30 times (no kidding) and then the instant I started pawing through the wallet for the back up card the damn thing registers? The checkout attendant pulled the “WTF?” look, I giggled and told him it was the threat of using a competitors card, LOL!

  2. 2paw February 17, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Isn’t it always the way?? Your tooth stops aching just before that hard to get dental appointment too. My DVD in my computer has stopped working. For me. I am sure when I take it in it will work for them!!! Once we had a peanut shell in the fuel tank that blocked the petrol momentarily, though it couldn’t be that!!!

    • kissmyfrog February 21, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      No, fairly sure there’s no peanuts in the tank… So far so good, still working fine, but I have to take Boyo to Orange tomorrow for an appointment, and I’m making sure the roadside assist card is ready to hand should I need it!

  3. Kate February 18, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Yup. Took my laptop to the Apple store to get help with weird blue screen flashing thing it has been doing. Did it once for me, then once restarted refused to do it again for the nice man. Get home and it does nothing BUT flash blue.
    Complete backup, erase harddrive, reinstall everything, do all updates. Fingers crossed.
    I hope your car battery is listening to this – woe betide the hardware that doesn’t do what it is told!!!!

  4. Lynne February 22, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    A happy ending – see, Murphy was an optimist! LOL

Leave a Reply

