Midnight hilarity.

20 Feb

Like much of NSW, we had a storm last night. No property damage, just lots of rain and thunder and lightning. Sasquatch (who I will admit is genuinely frightened by sudden loud noises, but who is also an 8yo boy, and therefore always on the make) took this opportunity to break with his usual routine of getting up for 15 drinks of water and forty-‘leven trips to the toilet, and instead came out to tell us that he was too scared to sleep in his own bed. Since Tech Support was heading to bed anyway, it was agreed he could sleep in ours until I came to bed, at which point I would take him back to his own.

It was nearly midnight by the time I came to bed, and Sasquatch is a heavy sleeper (in fact, he’s just plain heavy – he may not be big for his age, but his little body is solid muscle, and I can’t carry him anymore, which is the reason I have a story to tell at all). I shook him a couple of times, to no avail, then slid an arm under him and levered him into a sitting position, all the time talking to him, trying to wake him without waking T.S. (a restless or broken night’s sleep messes with his blood sugar, and he feels really crap for half the day afterwards, hence my concern). I didn’t wake anybody, so that’s half a success, right?

Now, Sasquatch has been known to sleepwalk, so I thought I could maybe get him moving even if he wouldn’t wake up. I pulled him into a standing position, and tried to get him walking, but his knees kept buckling. It was at this point that I got the giggles, because he looked like one of the Thunderbirds puppets. Suddenly, it dawned on me that although I couldn’t lift him in my arms, I could piggy-back him to bed. Genius! I quickly swung around and crouched down, pulling his arms around my neck, whereupon he cuddled into my shoulder with a contented little sigh. Cue more giggling. I tucked his bear under my arm, hoisted his legs around my waist, and off we went.

That was when I felt the drool hit my neck, and completely lost it. We are talking full-on Muttley wheeze, punctuated by occasional pig-snorts. I had to stop three times before I even got out of the bedroom (and our bedroom isn’t that big), to try and pull myself back together so as not to wake Tech Support.

Eventually, I got Sasquatch back to bed, where he immediately snuggled up with Bear-Bear, after which I went back to the family room to have a good old laugh before I went to bed.

6 Responses to “Midnight hilarity.”

  1. 2paw February 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    I didn’t expect there to be that much hilarity!! It sounds like something form a funny film!! Glad everyone got some sleep, drooly or not!!

  2. Leonie February 20, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    Oh heavens that’s gorgeous! And the drool…made me giggle too 🙂

  3. amy February 21, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    You’re persistent! I think I would have slept on the couch–or in the boy’s bed. I’ve often told my daughter, when she shows up at 3 am, that I’m going to go sleep in her bed. (I’ve only done it once, when she just wouldn’t stop chatting to me!!)

    • kissmyfrog February 21, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      Honestly, it never occurred to me to sleep on the couch (it was nearly midnight, I was kinda punchy)! But TS hates it when I sleep elsewhere, and I have the strong feeling that if I left Sasquatch to sleep there, it would have been the top of a very slippery slope. We used to co-sleep when I was breastfeeding, and it took longer to wean him out of the bed than off the breast!

  4. Kate February 22, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Love it – thank you for the giggle! I slept in daughter’s bed the other morning after she hopped in with us – too many elbows and knees when she’s in our bed ;P

  5. Lynne February 23, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Another great family story – even if you’re the only one who remembers it!

Leave a Reply

