What’s in the workbox? February 2012

29 Feb

I know it’s been a while – I wasn’t even sure I was going to keep going with this series until yesterday. But I’ve been knitting and thus have some progress to show, so here we are…

Please also note that it’s grey and rainy again, so any and all photographic crappiness is completely beyond my control.

First up, Finished Objects:

Hop, Skyp Socks: I grafted the toes of these last Friday, and they have been blocking ever since. As previously mentioned, it’s kinda wet here. Should the sun ever come out, I will take some proper F.O. pics (including my patented socks-in-a-tree, because I know a certain person who likes that). Anyway, the pattern is Skyp Rib Socks by Adrienne Ku, the yarn is Socks That Rock MW in the Froggin’ colourway, and they are squishy and snuggly and I suspect they will be very useful this coming winter, which is predicted to be a particularly long and cold one in our part of the world.

Now, on to current Works In Progress:

Blackberry Jam Socks: Ripped back to the heel flaps after I discovered they were too tight in the foot, these spent some serious time in the Naughty Corner, but are now back in my good graces. Now I have my sock mojo back, I’m fairly sure they’ll be finished soon. Like other socks before them, they get 50-ish minutes of love every weekday evening, while I watch Doctor Who (speaking of which; Kate, I get the David Tennant thing now. I risk the wrath of my husband here, but I’m going to take a stand and say he is the Best Doctor Ever).

And newly cast on:

Cloud Chaser: In line with the Trinny and Susannah guidelines, I have picked a new cardi-vest. A dramatic drapey collar and lots of vertical lines will work well for me, and the cables are making me happy. Also, some interesting construction techniques are keeping me on the hop. I’m knitting it out of some pale green Cleckheaton Natural Cotton 8ply that I’ve had floating around in stash for a couple of years. I think this is going to look really cute with jeans and a t-shirt or over a light cotton dress.

…and, finally, in the Ikea pile (some assembly required):

Undercurrent Cardigan:

Still waiting for the combination of sufficient table space, quality lighting and free time to seam this. Besides, it’s been too warm for the wearing of cardis anyway.

***

Oh, I almost forgot – the Crazy Zauberball socks have been returned to string, de-kinked and wound back into balls, and a new pattern has been chosen: Erica Alexander’s Cable Rib Socks from Favorite Socks. I’ll cast them on once I’ve finished the Blackberry Jam socks (and thus freed up the 2.25mm needles).

And that’s everything on the knitting front.

Tune in next month, same Bat-time, same Bat-channel.

8 Responses to “What’s in the workbox? February 2012”

  1. Lynne February 29, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Love it all but Cloud Chaser (I wish it would) is definitely a favourite!

  2. 2paw February 29, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Cloud chaser is very intricate and clever with all it’s drape and collars. The undercurrent cardi looks fabulous and do the jammy socks!! The Skyp socks look lovely, I’ve seen few pairs out and about in the ether. It’s a good pattern. I’ve had a cardi in the naughty corner for about 5 years!!!

    • kissmyfrog March 4, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

      Thank’ee, thank’ee. I’m back in love with it all, which is good, as it’s the only way to get things finished. Life is too short to knit stuff you don’t love.

      I do a big purge every 2-3 years, and anything that’s been hibernating for more than a year is either moved to the top of the list or frogged and repurposed.

  3. amy March 1, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    Look at you go! Sorry about all the rain~I hope you get some sunshine soon.

  4. Kate March 4, 2012 at 1:57 am #

    SQUEE!! I *told* you he was fabulous, so glad you are enjoying watching him (and the rest of the show, too, of course) sigh – I miss Doctor Who.
    Hmm, looking at those Blackberry Jam socks, guess what socks I’m wearing right now?
    Lastly: I’ll see your rain and raise you 100% humidity and mouldy everything (walls, window frames, baths, wardrobes)

    • Leonie March 4, 2012 at 10:38 am #

      Eeeeee–ewwwwwww, yucky mouldy would do my head in. Geez I hope your knits survive your epedition!

    • kissmyfrog March 4, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Yes, my dear, I bow to your superior knowledge of all things Galifreyan (sp?), and freely admit that I have a bit of a crush on David Tennant’s Doctor.
      As for your humidity… ick. Just… ick. That would be a total dealbreaker for me. I bet you’ll be glad to get home to lovely cool Tassie at the end of the year?

  5. Leonie March 4, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    You’ve been on a successful knitting spree, the rain must agree with your knitting at least!

    The colour of the Blackberry Jam socks really calls to me, such an awesome combination of shades, is that one of your dye jobs? Glad they are out of the naughty corner and I hope they get done soon so we can both have “purple” socks at Bendi 🙂

Leave a Reply

