The Problem With Cathedrals…

27 Mar

…is that there’s too damn many of them! This morning, I was part of the school choir’s ferry service down to Bathurst for a combined schools musical workshop at All Saints Cathedral. Anyone who knows me even a little bit knows what happened next.
I got lost.
I thought I knew where I was going. But I went to the Catholic cathedral instead of the Anglican.
I tried using Google maps on my phone, but it tried to send me over to Kelso.
I even asked for directions at the Tourist Information Service (’cause I have the chromosome that lets me do that, you know), but the woman there sent me right at the lights when I should have gone left (and I double checked with her. She definitely said right).
Finally, the school called me and gave me directions that worked, and I got my three charges to the right place, only 40 minutes late. And now I sit here in my favourite cafe, drinking the Coffee of Shame, eating the Muffin of Embarrassment.

5 Responses to “The Problem With Cathedrals…”

  1. Leonie March 27, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    I know it shouldn’t be funny, but it is 🙂

    I totally understand the coffee and muffin of Shame and Embarrassment.

    Look on the bright side: At least next time you will know where the right Cathedral is!

    • kissmyfrog March 28, 2012 at 7:19 am #

      Oh, no, it’s funny. Even with all the frustration and trying not to swear in front of the children, I was aware of the comedy of the situation.

      Do you want to know the even funnier part? If somebody had just said “Next door to Annie’s Ice Cream Parlour”, I would have known EXACTLY where to go!

      This is probably quite telling about the state of my soul.

  2. Kate March 31, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    You are not alone: I got lost on the way to pick up the flowers for my own wedding. 100kms the wrong way. 40 mins took 2 hours.
    Excuse? I was talking to my Mum (who is native to the district) so I didn’t notice the turnoff, and she said she didn’t know the turnoff so didn’t notice that I’d missed it.

    • kissmyfrog March 31, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      When the boys were tiny, I took them to visit my parents in Bowral. Coming home, I missed the Boorowa turnoff and sailed on south, heading towards Melbourne. For years afterwards, Boyo thought the name of the town where we finally turned around and headed back towards home was “Bloody Gundagai”.

  3. Lynne May 29, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Oh dear! But they got there safely and I’m sure they sang beautifully!

Leave a Reply

