Oops, I lost a week or three there…

28 Apr

Dreadfully sorry about that. The Easter hols meant that study slowed to a crawl; between one kid who can’t believe that anything I do might have any importance (Asperger’s + almost-a-teenager = if it’s not about him, then how could it matter?), and one kid who can’t understand why I wanted to be left alone for a couple of hours (because a time out is the worst possible punishment to an extroverted 8yo, so why would anyone choose it?), I struggled to get any work done at all. Somehow I managed to get my first two assignments finished and uploaded for marking on the due date, so that’s a load off my mind. My first exam is still coming up, but I’ve more or less caught up.

Meanwhile, the boys went back to school this week (hallelujah, amen) and I have two pairs of recently-completed socks that need blogging, so that I can consider them finished (because that’s the rule – if I haven’t blogged them, they’re not done):

Item the first: Hop, Skyp Socks

The Vital Statistics

Cast on: January 20th, 2012.
Finished: February 24th, 2012
Pattern: Skyp Rib Socksby Adrienne Ku (Ravelink)
Yarn: Socks That Rock mediumweight, colourway Froggin’, birthday yarn 2009
Needles: 2.75mm Knitpicks fixed cirulars, knitted Magic Loop, as always.
Modifications: Nothing major. I worked the heel over 60% of the stitches, as is my wont, because I get a better fit that way.

*

Item the second: Blackberry Jam Socks:

The Vital Statistics

Cast on: September, 2011.
Finished: March 29th, 2012
Pattern: Retro Ribs, by Evelyn A. Clark, (Ravelink)
Yarn: My own hand-dye (on a base of Patonyle 4ply), colourway Blackberry Jam, dyed September 2010.
Needles: 2.25mm Knitpicks Options
Modifications: I used the very lovely Estonian cast-on (Nancy Bush demo video here). After that, it was just business as usual.

…and that’s that, two pairs of socks, officially logged and blogged, and into rotation now that the weather’s cooling down.

7 Responses to “Oops, I lost a week or three there…”

  1. Kate April 29, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    So, should I be queuing these Skyp socks for moi?

    • kissmyfrog April 29, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Absolutely! They’re total autopilot socks, with just enough of a pattern to keep the brain from total atrophy.

  2. 2paw May 2, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    Yes, the Skyp socks are everywhere right now!!! Nice socks indeed and no, children do not understand adults might like a little quiet by themselves time!!!

    • kissmyfrog May 6, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      Hey, you got the comments to work!

      It’s funny how things go around, isn’t it? I made my dad a pair of Charades (which use the skyp stitch, though she didn’t call it that) a few years ago when they were the viral sock du jour, and now here we are again.

      The kids? Well, all I can say is thank heaven they’re back in school five days a week!

  3. Leonie May 3, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    The Skyp socks look like they would make a good pair for Jules 🙂

    • kissmyfrog May 6, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      They would – a nice manly pattern, and ribs are good for long, skinny feet. I’ve done lots of ribbed socks for my dad, and his feet go on for ever!

  4. Lynne May 29, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    Both pairs are lovely!

Leave a Reply

