What’s in the Workbox? April 2012: belated.

4 May

Sorry, I’ve been cramming for my first exam, which was today. So I’m declaring myself a free woman this weekend – I’m not even cracking the new textbooks until Monday.

Meanwhile, here’s the April workbox roundup:

Cloud Chaser Vest: So close to done it’s not even funny. It’s only wanting bands and a good blocking.

Cable Rib Socks: just about ready to start the heel flap. I’m planning on working the heels and toes in some black Patonyle so as not to break up the colour progression.

Undercurrent Cardigan: Um, this is a bit embarrassing… I haven’t worked a single stitch on those seams since last month. And now it’s getting cold enough to wish it was finished, but every minute of quiet time I’ve had has been spent head-down in a textbook. I hope to get to it soon.

Ingenue has been frogged and the reclaimed yarn will be ready to cast on the Foxhollow cardi as soon as I finish the vest.

ProTip: if there is even the faintest chance you might need to unravel a garment, DO NOT use EZ’s sewn bind off. I know, I know, it’s stretchy, it’s beautiful (especially with garter or moss stitch), and it’s a perfect complement to the long-tail cast-on, but it just takes FOREVER to undo it. Like over an hour and a half to unpick the 250-ish stitches of the bottom edge of Ingenue.

And that’s it for this month.

9 Responses to “What’s in the Workbox? April 2012: belated.”

  1. roseredshoes May 4, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    I was just thinking about that Cloud Chaser vest pattern a day or two ago, and that I’d like to make it! Even moreso now I’ve seen yours!

    • kissmyfrog May 6, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Do, you’ll love it! It’s a perfect combination of just enough cables to make you feel ever so clever, and plenty of lovely meditative stocking stitch.

  2. knightlyknitter May 6, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    What is it with you and finding the most gorgeous cable pattern for every circumstance??? And me sitting here with the aircon firing at 25*C to keep the room reasonably comfortable, plus fan going for nice air circulation breezes.
    Be warned, I shall retaliate with light and enviable lace cardis!!!

    ps your stuff looks gorgeous, which explains my deep deep envy of your cool-enough-to-wear-it weather!!

    • kissmyfrog May 6, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

      Well, usually, it’s Ceri’s fault (I often trawl her queue for inspiration), but this time I found it in a link from the Foxhollow cardigan’s Rav-page, so you can blame Amy Swenson.

      Retaliate away, I look forward to your pretty pretty lace cardis, but I shan’t be susceptible – I’m just not a lacey kinda girl. ‘Specially not at this time of year. We’ve had a couple of good hard frosts this week, and I think my tomatoes are done for.

  3. 2paw May 6, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Wow, your vest is looking wonderful, I love the cables. Cute socks and I am sure your poor Undercurrent will get lots of attention now it is cooler!!

  4. Leonie May 16, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    So is the vest done now? I’ve been slack and haven’t gotten around to commenting even though your blog post has been sitting open in my tabs all week 😦

    I hope all of your studying is bearing fruit and you got good results for your exam 🙂

    I want to see the completed Undercurrent Cardigan. But not to the detriment of your studies, oh the dilemma’s!

    • kissmyfrog May 16, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      Vest not quite done yet. I’ve finished the front bands, just can’t decide what to do with the armholes – the pattern calls for a K1P1 rib, but I’m leaning towards an applied I-cord…

      Still haven’t heard results from the exam (there’s a 3-week marking turnaround at present), but I’m feeling pretty confident. There were a few questions I was unsure of at the time, but when I looked them up afterwards, I gave the right answers.

      Now I’m working on Anatomy & Physiology, which is really interesting, and Law & Ethics in Complementary Medicine, which is… not.

      Undercurrent still not together. Must look at that this weekend.

  5. Lynne May 29, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Oh dear, how annoying all that unpicking must have been. I use Jeni’s amazingly stretchy bind off myself (but I’ve not tried to unpick it so I don’t know how it would go!).

    I’ve done it – I’ve read all your posts from March 1 forward; there are advantages to you being too busy to blog – I could catch up! LOL

    • kissmyfrog May 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Hey, welcome back! Thanks for all your comments – study going well, kids still alive, knitting happening (most of the time), and thanks for reminding me I’ve got to put another post together for Thursday.

Leave a Reply

