Undercurrent, et al.

5 Jul

Again, I’ve been having difficulties getting to the blogging. Had another exam on the 29th, for which I over-prepared (I can be a little obsessive – Boyo had to get it somewhere), so I’m feeling fairly confident about it. There’s a 4-5 week marking turnaround, so I’ve only just got the last results back – 86% on the exam, 92% on the assessment project, and an overall high distinction for the unit.

Anyway, on to the knitting: first up, Undercurrent (as usual, all links are Ravelry-links).

With an almost unanimous vote of “bigger is better”, I have sewn on the buttons. Part of the reason for my lengthy blogging silence is that every weekend, when I’ve had access to both daylight and a husband to wield the camera, it has rained. In fact, last weekend we had snow. So even though I’ve been wearing it all the time, there’s still no modelled pics. Finally, this morning I decided to just spread it out on the floor and take pics that way, so I can post this and move on. Hopefully, I’ll manage to get some pics of me in it at Bendi.

Anyhoo, here ’tis, my beautiful Undercurrent cardigan, overflowing with stripey Noro goodness. It’s so soft! And warm! And every other good thing! I will most definitely be knitting with Silk Garden again.

The Vital Statistics

Cast On: 22 July 2011
Cast off: 19th January 2012
Finished: 10th June 2012
Pattern: Undercurrent, by Lisa Kay for Knitty, First Fall 2011
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden, colourways 8 (blue-green-purple) & 84 (red-orange-pink), bought at Bendigo S&W 2011
Needles: 5mm Knitpicks Options, nickel-plated interchangeable circular
Modifications: None
Notions: 8 x 23mm natural shell buttons

Moving right along, I have also (finally!) put the finishing touches on my Cloud Chaser cardi/vest/thingy. The delay on this was three-fold: a) I ran out of yarn, so had to modify the armhole treatment (pattern called for 10 rows of k1 p1 rib, I ended up going with 2 rows purl), which first required b) a lengthy sulking/thinking process and c) I got distracted by other knitting. However, yesterday while sitting by the phone/computer waiting for contacts from auto-wreckers who were hopefully trying to find me a car part (more on that later), I picked up and worked the armholes, and here it is, blocking its little heart out in front of the heater (I’ve woven in those ends since taking this pic):

The Vital Statistics:
Cast On: February 24, 2012
Cast off: July 4th, 2012
Pattern: Cloud Chaser by Amy Singer/Indiknits.
Yarn: Cleckheaton Natural Cotton 8 ply, colour #004 (a very soft green); 10 x 50g balls
Needles: 4.5 mm Knitpicks Options interchangeable circular
Modifications: Added some length in the body, worked some of the edging in garter stitch rather than rib, 2-row purl armhole edging.

And of course, with all the finishing, there’s new projects on the needles:

Foxhollow, cast on June 11th (the day after I finished Undercurrent), is already waist-length, with sleeves. Now I basically just keep knitting ’til I run out of yarn. And there’s still plenty of that laying about – this yarn is the Neverending Packet of TimTams.

Finally, while stuck in Orange with the boys the other day, waiting for the auto-electrician to pronounce on my car, I cast on for a Calorimetry. I made one of these little lovelies several years ago, out of some beautiful lavender handspun that the most excellent Knitasha gave me for Christmas in 2007, but it never really worked for me – my hair was a cantankerous beastie when it was long, and the dreamy softness of Becky’s handspun didn’t really stand a chance. But I’ve been wearing it a lot since I cut my hair – it keeps my head warm, my hair out of my face while I’m studying, and I think it looks pretty cute, too. So I’ve decided to make a couple more out of the leftover Noro from my cardi. This is how much I got done during a leisurely morning tea and an hour at the library.

Finally, we got the call to tell me that my vehicle speed sensor needs replacing (click for an explanation of what it is and what it does, if you’re interested – I wasn’t until quite recently), and that because my car is a Proton, a new part is going to be hard to find and expensive (never again will I choose a car based primarily on cuteness!). So I spent all day yesterday emailng and calling various wreckers, in hopes that somebody would have one. Finally at almost 5pm, I found a guy in Sydney who had one, and it’s on its way here. All things being equal, I will be ready to roll in plenty of time for Bendi (knock wood, light a candle, wave a circle round it thrice).

8 Responses to “Undercurrent, et al.”

  1. rosered July 5, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Look at that lovely stripey Noro goodness!

    I love the Cloud Chaser pattern! I guess it’s too lat to mention I think I have some of that yarn… Anyway, I think your sleeve edging looks better than ribbing anyway.

    • kissmyfrog July 5, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Thanks – I’m really happy with it now that it’s done, though I was pretty honked off when I realised I was short of the yarn, and even more so when Spotlight didn’t have any more… I mean, it’s only 2 or 3 years since I bought it, don’t they have any sort of customer loyalty? 😉

  2. Lynne July 6, 2012 at 12:52 am #

    Firstly, congratulations on your HD, that’s a great achievement. Your Undercurrent hoodie looks fabulous, I am off to check out the pattern for myself.

  3. Kate July 6, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Wow, Noro gorgeousness! It looks lovely!!

    I’m a bit keen on your Foxhollow, too – I look forward to seeing it on you before the cold weather disappears 🙂

    Good to see a blog update, and of course we understand that overachieving on your course is far more important than faffing about with posts on your blog for your adoring public… ;P

  4. 2paw July 6, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    Well, that is a fantastic array of finished-ness or almost finished-ness!! The Undercurrent is beautiful and I never realised it had a hood. Wow, Foxhollow is just gorgeous, can’t wait to see it finished. Glad you found the part you needed for your car. I bought my car because it was a) green and b) inexpensive!!!

    • kissmyfrog July 7, 2012 at 12:00 am #

      It wasn’t an entirely frivolous choice – I did my homework and narrowed it down to three or four models,all around the same price and fuel economy, but when it came down to the final choice I went with the cutest. I’ve had cause to regret it since – parts aren’t cheap, and there’s only one brand of tyre that fits my wheels, which this time last year cost me $160 each. That took a bite out of the Bendi budget, I can tell you!

  5. Becky Clark July 7, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    I love Undercurrent! I hope we get a photo of you in it one day. I had forgotten that I sent you handspun – glad the Calorimetry is finally coming in handy.

Leave a Reply

