In Uffish Thought

6 Jul

Submitted for your approval, one pair of socks:

IMG_0366

New socks, new tree.

The Vital Statistics:
Cast On: 12th May 2013
Cast off: 1st July 2013
Pattern: Brainless, (Rav-link) by Yarnissima
Yarn: BMFA Socks That Rock mediumweight, colourway “Jabberwocky”
Needles: 2.5mm & 2.75mm Knitpicks nickel-plated fixed circular
Modifications: Eye-of-Partridge heel-flap, because it is just all-around better on socks than straight stocking stitch.

Better colour, new front step.

Better colour, new front step.

What do you get when you put together a yarn called Jabberwocky with a pattern called Brainless?

And as in uffish thought he stood,

The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame

Came wiffling through the tulgey wood

And burbled as it came.

This is my fourth attempt at this pattern; every other time I’ve had issues with the row-gauge making the gusset too short, but this time it came out perfectly. I blame the awesomeness of Socks That Rock. Incidentally, this is the last skein of STR that I bought with my birthday money in 2009. I really need to get me some more.

Dead gorgeous gusset.

Dead gorgeous gusset.

First time working Judy’s Magic Cast-on; what an amazingly clever woman! It came out perfectly on both socks, no need to tighten anything up, and as completely invisible as a Kitchener toe on a top down. Just lovely.

10 Responses to “In Uffish Thought”

  1. kgirlknits July 11, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    love the colorway! and the clever gusset.

    out of sock yarn, you say? and just in time for Bendigo? how serendipitous!! 😉 not STR, probably, but still…

    • kissmyfrog July 12, 2013 at 8:30 am #

      Oh, honey, you are hilarious! I am far from out of sock yarn. When I packed up the stash for the move, there was one tea-chest sized box just for the sock yarn. No, I am only out of STR.

      And Bendi? Didn’t you hear? When I announced that I couldn’t be there this year, they cancelled the whole shebang. At least, I’m trying to pretend that’s what happened (an endeavour made much more difficult by my habitual reading of the OTF and Bendi Baa boards on Ravelry).

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Kate July 12, 2013 at 7:41 am #

    They are frabjous! Callooh! Callay!

    • kissmyfrog July 12, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      She chortles in her glee!

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Leonie July 15, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    The socks, they are approved 🙂
    They are awesome actually and I must source me some more of that STR stuff.

    • kissmyfrog July 15, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

      Check with Tinkingbell when she’s next doing an order. That’s what I always do.

      And your approval is appreciated.

      Sent from my iPad

  4. RoseRed July 16, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    They are great socks! STR is one of my favourite yarns to knit, so smooshy! And Judy’s Magic Cast-On is AWESOME. I would never do a toe up cast on any other way!

    • kissmyfrog July 17, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      It is gorgeous yarn, isn’t it? And wearing it just makes your feet happy. I really must get more. Just as soon as I knit down the stash a bit…

      Sent from my iPad

  5. 2paw July 17, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    Calloo Callay (not sure of the spelling!!) They are very lovely socks. I have always liked that pattern but it is the wrong way up for my liking. That Magic Cast On is really magic, isn’t it???

    • kissmyfrog July 17, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

      Love the magic cast on! And while I am by preference a top-down girl, it was really fun to work upside down for a change. I’ll probably make a pair of Firestarters once I get some more Socks That Rock.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

