It’s Been a While.

27 Mar

Almost six years, in fact. But between Ravelry and other social media outlets, I just haven’t felt the need to post here, so I let the blog slide. Shit happens, let’s move on.

But now we live in the age of Global Pandemic and Social Distancing, and it feels like a good time to exhume this beast, so here I am.

Let’s jump right in with my most recent finished objects – two t-shirts:

 

Pattern: Flora Top by Stitch Upon A Time

Fabric:

  • Floral – Organic cotton lycra knit from Spotlight;
  • Grey geometric – 100% cotton jersey excavated from deep stash;
  • both – cotton quilt fabric fat quarter for the bias binding.

Mods: Cut exactly to pattern in the L size, because it fits like it was made for me. Only place I differed from the instructions is in the use of bias binding to face the neckline, sleeves and hem, because I love the finish I get (plus, look how cute!)

20200327_121835

I love this pattern, it’s super comfy and super easy – just two pattern pieces and four seams, thanks to the cut-on sleeves. I find it really interesting that a tiny little bit of lycra (from memory 5%) can make such a difference to the fit; the grey shirt has a lot more positive ease, even though I cut both shirts to the exact same size.

I don’t know how often I’ll be posting here. I’m not setting any rules. I’ll just put stuff up as feels right. Mostly, I want to sew more, and I want a place to document that.

2 Responses to “It’s Been a While.”

  1. knightlyknitter March 29, 2020 at 12:04 pm #

    Hey gorgeous, totally agree on the need to reach out and connect (cue soundtrack Gotye ‘Heart’s a mess’ – “And I’m desperate to connect”). I will watch your sewing progress with interest!

    I was looking at my blog the other day and thinking it is time for a refresh. You may have given me extra incentive…

    • kissmyfrog March 29, 2020 at 12:43 pm #

      Thanks, lovey!

Leave a comment