Marking My Territory

29 Jan

When I first told my sister we were buying a house, she said “As soon as you move in, paint a big patch of colour on the wall, just because you can!” Well, it may have taken us a while to figure out which wall, and what colour, but we have finally done it.

ImageThe colour is called “Seductress”, and in the tin it looks like blackberry sorbet (I don’t know why, but I almost always think of colour in food terms).

ImageDry, it’s more of a cranberry in the daylight, becoming a deep wine red at night. I love it to bits.

ImageOh, and the other thing about the wall?

Image

5 Responses to “Marking My Territory”

  1. RoseRed February 2, 2014 at 8:52 pm #

    Love it! Especially that it is a chalkboard!
    Our “formal” lounge is red – all the walls! But only half height, as the room has plate rails. I love it too (of course!)

    • kissmyfrog February 3, 2014 at 10:34 am #

      Now, why doesn’t that surprise me? 😀

      I would have LOVED to do a whole room in red, but it just wouldn’t work here. The kitchen/dining/lounge is all one big open plan room, but it faces south, and has a veranda out front as well, so in the winter it is really quite dark for most of the day. We need the lighter-coloured walls to brighten things up in here. And I must say the contrast where the red hits the cream at the corner makes me ridiculously happy (as does the fact that the wall matches my toenails!).

  2. knightlyknitter February 10, 2014 at 9:03 am #

    Oh, we are such twinnies – I’m sitting here at the dining table looking at my glorious cinnamon-red wall, and wondering if you have any other colour matches you’d like to share? (although ours isn’t a chalkboard, so you win there!)

    • kissmyfrog February 10, 2014 at 9:17 am #

      But, lovey, this is hardly news – we already knew we were joined at the brain. 🙂

      And we did chalkboard walls in the boys rooms, too. J has a fairly standard chalkboard green, because he’s a green-loving boy, and to match his quilt that my mum made, and Z has the most glorious TARDIS blue you ever laid eyes on. I would take a pic and share, but his room looks like… well, like the bedroom of an almost 14yo boy.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  3. Leonie February 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm #

    I knew you had made it red but you hadn’t let on it was chalk board. You sooooo win! Now I’m looking around my house and wondering where I might be able to make a coloured and chalkboard wall …

Leave a comment