Twofer

13 Jan

I finished the socks on Sunday night.

dscf0024

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Basic top-down sock
Yarn: TOFUtsies colour#797
Needles: 3.5mm Knitpicks Harmony interchangeable circular
Modifications:  I wanted a quick, easy no-brainer sock that I could knit while doing other stuff. I also wanted something cushy and comfortable that I can wear with my runners. So I worked these with the yarn held double, in an alternating 2×2 rib with a double-thickness hem at the cuff.

dscf0025

This week and next, the boys have daily swimming lessons at the local pool, which is fantastic for them, but means I am sitting about for an hour every morning, so I needed to immediately pick a new project for Monday. As luck would have it, I had dropped in to Spotlight on Saturday and picked up a layby, so I had yarn going begging. But what to knit with ten balls of pale green Cleckheaton Natural Cotton 8ply?

To the Rav-cave, Knitwoman!

I chose the Tantric Puzzle top (Rav-link).  It’s kind of cool; you knit two strips 30cm x 120cm and two narrow garter-stitch ties 5cm x 45cm, then you cross them, stitch here and there, and voila!  You have a super-funky wrap-top (at least, that’s the plan!). Here’s what we’ve got so far:

dscf0018

The alpaca shawl is growing, though not so dramatically that it’s worth photographing.

What else?… The bananas in the fruit bowl had gone all black, so I baked some banana muffins.

dscf0016

And if anybody could tell me what these fabulously freaky little thingies are, I’d be enormously grateful. I discovered them in the border the other day, and they are just so bizarre and cool!

dscf0023

4 Responses to “Twofer”

  1. Mandie January 14, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    I want to say gooseberries…if not, they definitely look like some kind of berry?
    Nice socks chicky!

  2. Tinkingbell January 14, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Look a bit like blue berries – I’d wait until they change colour though

    Yummy socks – love the tantric top – been in my queue for a while – one of my – if I get a bit thinner……tops – yours looks beautiful

  3. becky c. January 15, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    Dude, that top is so cool. I might consider making it if I ever have upper arms and a midriff suitable for public viewing. Hmmmmm….or make it for my skinny kid.

  4. Melinda January 18, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    I bought some cleckheaton natural cotton from spottie too – it’s so lovely and natural feeling!

Leave a comment