Archive | 1:19 pm

Peer Pressure

20 Nov

You know that meme that’s been doing the rounds lately? Yeah, that one. Well, I’ve been thinking about doing it, but then on Sunday Kate tagged me, so now I have to, don’t I?

So here you go:

1. Name one person who made you laugh last night.

The writers of Supernatural (normally, the answer would be one of my kids, but last night they were horrible so I sent them to bed early).

2. What were you doing at 0800?

Making peanut butter sandwiches to pack my son’s school lunch.

3. What were you doing 30 minutes ago?

Mopping up moisturiser from my dining-room table. I foolishly left the pump-pack sitting out while I went and did something else, and when there’s a four-year-old left alone with a pump bottle, the results are pretty much inevitable.

4. What happened to you in 2006?

Same old same old, really. Every day I get up, drink coffee, apply food, soap and water and clothes to two kids, take one (or both) to school, wash this, dry that, put something else away. If I’m lucky, I can squeeze in a bit of knitting time before I have to pick kids up from school. Then I apply soap and water, food, and pajamas to the kids before I get to pack them off to bed and fall down.

About the only out-of-the-ordinary thing that happened last year was my husband crashed my car. No-one was hurt, but my car was written off, and I was back to bumming a ride with friends or my hubby (his car is a manual and I only drive automatic). That kinda sucked. Oh, and I discovered the Planet of the Knit-bloggers – that was cool!

5. What was the last thing you said out loud?

“Sorry, I think you’ve got the wrong number.” (at least it wasn’t a telemarketer)

6. How many beverages did you have today?

2 cups of coffee, 3 glasses of water and a diet cola.

7. What colour is your hairbrush?

I have very curly hair, so hairbrush + my hair = KABLOOEY! Every day I wet my hair in the shower, towel-dry and quickly comb with a big wide-toothed comb. Large quantities of product and a big bitey hairclip later, and my hair is done for the day. If I want to change my hair, I have to re-wet it. The colour of the comb? Red.

8. What was the last thing you paid for?

$2.00 for an art thing at my son’s school today.

9. Where were you last night?

At home. All night. Watching tv and ironing giant business shirts.

10. What colour is your front door?

Timber, stained teak with glass insets.

11. Where do you keep your change?

Some in my purse, some in the ash-tray in my car, some in a stone-ware bowl on the kitchen cupboard.

12. What’s the weather like today?

Warm, sunny, beginning to be quite hot.

13. What’s the best ice-cream flavour?

Homer Hudson Chocolate Rock – dark chocolate ice-cream, almost black in colour, with big chunks of dark chocolate in it. Mmmm…. dribbling as I type this.

14. What excites you?

Watching my kids learn something new. Finding a new yarn store, or even a new line of yarn at my regular yarn store. A parcel in the mail. A new picture of one of my nephews or nieces. Visiting my friends or relatives. A successful test-run of a new recipe. A good hair day. Finding jeans that fit. A new book by a favourite author.

15. Do you want to cut your hair?

Ah… no. I got a dreadful haircut a few months ago, and I am still growing it out. It will probably need a trim before Christmas, but otherwise, get your scissors away from me!

16. Are you over the age of 25?

Hahahahahahahahaha!!!!! Yes.

17. Do you talk a lot?

I used to, but since my kids learned to talk, I can hardly get a word in. On Fridays, when they are both at school/preschool, I barely say a word. It’s just so nice to have silence!

18. Do you watch the O.C?

No. Let’s just say I’m not a fan and leave it at that.

19. Do you know anyone named Steven?

My cousin, my brother-in-law and the husbands of three of my friends are all named Steven (or Stephen).

20. Do you make up your own words?

Not so much. My husband and children are so much better at it than I am. Yesterday my boys invented the Zanjogaxer, a fabulous and mysterious beast that lays eggs resembling large blobs of green play-dough. No-one knows what the zanjogaxer looks like, as it sneaks in when nobody is looking and lays its eggs before making a hasty and silent withdrawal (no shortage of imagination in my house).

21. Are you a jealous person?

No. To me, jealousy has always implied a lack of trust. I trust my husband, and therefore I have no need to be jealous.

22. Name a friend whose name starts with the letter ‘A’.

Andrew (he is such a good friend, I married him), and Amy.

23. Name a friend whose name starts with the letter ‘K’.

I have several friends in real life all named Kate, and of course Kate-in-Tassie who tagged me for this meme.

24. Who’s the first person on your received call list?

Andrew

25. What does the last text message you received say?

“Thanks, you’re a week early, but I love the sentiment anyway!” (I sent my sister a text wishing her a happy Anniversary, and stuffed up on the date).

26. Do you chew on your straw?

No. I don’t generally drink with a straw, I swig from the bottle or sip from a glass.

27. Do you have curly hair?

Hell, yes. And then some.

28. Where’s the next place you’re going to?

Kitchen to make my lunch and then dining table to eat it.

29. Who’s the rudest person in your life?

Until this week I would have said a certain teacher at my son’s school, but the woman who bought a trumpet from my hubby on eBay leaves her for dead! Un-freakin’-believable.

30. What was the last thing you ate?

A handful of toasted almonds with smoked paprika at about 10.30am.

31. Will you get married in the future?

Nope. I picked a winner the first time around, thank you.

32. What’s the best movie you’ve seen in the past 2 weeks?

A rerun of The Great Escape on tv on the weekend. I had forgotten how funny Steve McQueen was.

33. Is there anyone you like right now?

The good people at Blue Sky Animation (Ice Age 2 has rendered the Sasquatch silent for the last half-hour). I’d have to say they are close to being my favourite people in the world just now.

34. When was the last time you did the dishes?

This morning.

35. Are you currently depressed?

Nah.

36. Did you cry today?

Nope.

37. Why did you answer and post this?

Kate told me to. No, really I had planned to just as soon as I had a few minutes to myself (the boys will leave home eventually, right?). I like this meme – it gives some insight into the little details of the person’s life. I think the little things tell you more about a person than “7 (or 100) Things About Me”.

About the only people I know who haven’t already done this meme are Mandie, Becky and Karen. Ladies, if you would like to do it, great. If you don’t want to, that’s okay too.