Archive | 1:49 pm

Despina

4 Jan

In Greek mythology Despina was a sea nymph, a daughter of Poseidon.

In September, I joined the Sock Knitter’s Anonymous group on Ravelry, and as part of their Sockdown! challenge, this month’s designer is Cookie A. Seeing as how I’ve just knit three Monkeys in a row (I finished the second Shock the Monkey anklet yesterday), I thought I’d do something different. Accordingly, I cast on Pomatomus last night in the Merino/Optim blend that Mandie dyed up for me for Christmas (is she clever or what?). It is a gorgeous yarn and a pleasure to knit with; very sproingy and squooshy, and the colourway that Mandie was so anxious about? Well, see for yourself:

sea-blue-merino-optim.jpg

pomatomus3.jpg

Sea blues, kelp greens and lush royal purple (please note the happy way the colours are scattered over the sock, no pooling or flashing at all). Add in the fishy reference of Pomatomus and I had to name this sock after oceanic royalty, didn’t I? (by the way, did you know Doris was the name of a sea goddess? I can’t help it, I just keep seeing a frowsy old mermaid with her hair in curlers and a cigarette hanging out the corner of her mouth).

I’m so happy with the way this sock is coming out. Cookie A’s pattern is genius, but that’s no surprise. What did surprise me is that despite the suggestion of difficulty in the designer’s notes and the scary-looking chart, it’s actually quite easy and logical. I won’t be as quick pumping these out as I was with the Monkeys, but that’s okay.